Remembering the Freddy Adu Hype, circa 2005

Back in 2005, Freddie Adu was the face of US soccer for most casual MLS fans.  Though he’s yet to live up to the hype that surrounded him in 2004 when he signed with DC United, he’s definitely been showing promise lately.  He’s scored two goals in his last two games with his current club, Aris FC, which, once again, has US fans excited about his chances of making this summer’s World Cup quad.

His recent success had me thinking again of a piece I did with him back in the spring of 2005.  It was for a show I produced for MTV News called “Fake ID Club” that showcased pop culture’s best and brightest under the age of 21.  Because my bosses knew I was a die-hard footy fan, they, unbelievably, allowed me to showcase Freddy.

I traveled down to Maryland to catch his DC United practice and got to hang out with his mom and brother at his house.  It was a memorable day and I can definitely report first hand that the kid has some serious skills.

The funniest part of the experience was that Freddy had a crush on the show’s host, teen pop star JoJo.  When I told him that she would he intro-ing the piece, he asked if he could give her a personal message–on camera–that ended up making it in the piece.  A week later,  I caught up with JoJo in Brisbane, Australia to shoot her hostv wraps.  I read to her exactly what Freddy had said.  She was genuinely smitten and the next thing I knew they were, reportedly, dating.  Like, for the next couple of years!

I like to think I had something to do with that! [ha ha]  So in honor of Freddy Adu finally showing some overdue promise in Greece, here’s the piece I produced with him 5 years ago.

Freddy Adu–Who Are Ya?! from andrew millard on Vimeo.

One response to “Remembering the Freddy Adu Hype, circa 2005

  1. Hi, this is very nice blog, if you are interested in link exchange, please email me at
    support@soccer24.com.

Leave a comment